Fordham Law

Hon. Denny Chin Delivers Graduation Address, Sheila Foster Receives Dean's Medal at Diploma Ceremony

May 20, 2014

Hon. Denny Chin '78 is hooded by Fordham University President Joseph M. McShane, S.J. 
The Honorable Denny Chin '78, United States Circuit Judge for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, served as the graduation speaker and received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree at Fordham Law School’s 107th diploma ceremony, on Monday, May 19, at The Theater at Madison Square Garden.

Fordham University President Joseph M. McShane, S.J., and Fordham Law Dean Michael M. Martin conferred degrees on 631 graduates—464 of whom received J.D. degrees and 167 of whom received LL.M. degrees.

Judge Chin, who was nominated by President Obama and confirmed by the U.S. Senate 98-0, has been in the position since 2010. Previously, he served nearly 16 years as a United States District Judge for the Southern District of New York. Before joining the bench, he worked in private practice and also served as an Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York. He is a 1978 graduate of Fordham Law and a longtime adjunct professor in the School’s legal writing program.

Fordham Law Vice Dean Sheila Foster received the Dean's Medal of Recognition, the highest honor bestowed by the Dean, given for outstanding contributions to Fordham Law.
Vice Dean Sheila Foster

"Sheila has consistently fulfilled her responsibilities with devotion, tact, and exemplary good judgment. I personally have depended on her wise counsel and remarkable people skills throughout my entire tenure as dean—and I have never been disappointed," said Dean Michael M. Martin.
Student Bar Association Vice President Nicole Lipsky '14, Professor James J. Brudney, and SBA President  Amanda Yu '14

Professor James J. Brudney was presented with the Teacher of the Year Award (Read his remarks [pdf]). The Eugene J. Keefe Award, presented by the Student Bar Association to the person who has made the most important contribution to the Fordham community, was given to David Harvey '14. Thomas Drago received the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award. 
 Lipsky, Yu, and David Harvey '14  Adjunct Professor Thomas Drago