Stop and Frisk Reform

Tanya Hernandez on WBAI, September 18, 2013

Media Source

Judge Shira Sheindlin appointed an Academic Advisory Council of local area law professors to help reform the NYPD practice of Stop and Frisk. They will work with Nicholas Turner, President of the Vera Institute for Justice, who was appointed on September 4th to guide the community based remedial process.

The Chair of the Council is Professor Bennett Capers of Brooklyn Law School.

The other members of the Advisory Council are:


Ian Ayres, William K. Townsend Professor Law, Yale Law School

Alafair S. Burke, Professor of Law, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Miriam Gohara, Visiting Assistant Professor, Columbia Law School

Taja-Nia Y. Henderson, Associate Professor of Law, Rutgers School of Law-Newark

Tanya K. Hernandez, Professor of Law, Fordham University School of Law

Conrad Johnson, Clinical Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

William E. Hellerstein, Professor of Law (retired), Brooklyn Law


The Judge says the law professors on the Advisory Council agreed to provide their expertise in a pro bono capacity.