Fordham Law School banner photo

The Mary Daly Prize in Legal Ethics

The Mary Daly Prize in Legal Ethics is awarded to the Fordham Law School graduating student who publishes the most significant writing or makes the most significant other contribution relating to lawyers' professional responsibility and/or the legal profession. It was established by the directors of the Stein Center for Law and Ethics in memory of their beloved colleague Mary Daly, who directed the Stein Center in the 1980s and 1990s.

This Year's Winners

Jerry Dickinson and Joanna Zdanys were awarded this year’s Mary Daly Prize in Legal Ethics. Jerry and Joanna received the award at the Fordham Law diploma ceremony, which took place on May 19, 2013. 

Jerry, a Stein Scholar, was Editor-in-Chief of the Fordham Environmental Law Review and a board member of Fordham’s Housing Advocacy Project.  Jerry was also a member of Fordham Law's Brendan Moore Trial Advocates, and as such was part of a team that finished first among fifteen teams to win the ABA Section of Labor and Employment Law's Regional Trial Competition.  It was Jerry’s position and contributions as a Teaching Assistant in the Professional Responsibility: Lawyers and Justice seminar, as well as the Housing Law Clinic, that made him a particularly strong candidate for the Mary Daly Prize.  After graduation, he joined Reed Smith’s Real Estate group in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Joanna, a Stein Scholar, was Editor-in-Chief of the Fordham Urban Law Journal, and a board member of the Fordham Moot Court Board, Universal Justice and Disaster Relief Network.  As Editor-in-Chief, Joanna oversaw the publication of a book of articles titled The Law: Business or Profession? The Continuing Relevance of Julius Henry Cohen for the Practice of Law in the Twenty-First Century, which arose from a conference by the same name organized by the Stein Center, and co-sponsored by Touro Law Center, in April 2012.  The book uses the work of Julius Henry Cohen, an early 20th century member of the New York Bar, as a backdrop to consider the current state of legal ethics and explore the roles and responsibilities of lawyers to their clients, to each other, and to society at large.  After graduation, Joanna began working at Morrison & Foerster. 

Previous winners of the Mary Daly Prize include:

  • 2013: Jerry Dickinson and Joanna Zdanys
  • 2012: Theodore R. Sangalis
  • 2011: Mari Gracie Byrne and Marni Lynn Von Wilpert