Fordham Law School banner photo

2014 Feerick Center Awards & Benefit Reception

Two Alumni Among Four Honored at Feerick Center Awards Reception  
October 07, 2014    

The Feerick Center for Social Justice held its annual awards and benefit reception on October 6, 2014, at the headquarters of Mutual of America in New York City.

Constantine “Gus” N. Katsoris ’57, Ignatius M. Wilkinson Professor of Law at Fordham, received the George J. Mitchell Lifetime Public Service Award. Katsoris is the most senior faculty member at the Law School, having joined in 1964. He is the head of the tax faculty and is nationally regarded for his expertise in tax, securities and estate planning. Over his long career he has been involved in public service and pro bono service on numerous occasions for extensive periods of time in civil and criminal matters. He has been the single largest supporter of the Fordham Student Sponsored Public Interest Fellowships, in terms of funds raised through the Fordham Student Auction since its creation in 1992. He serves on the Feerick Center’s Board of Advisors.  

The recipient of the Champion of Justice Award was Alan Rothstein, who serves as the General Counsel of the New York City Bar Association. In that capacity he has worked for almost three decades to promote reform of law and the fair and sound administration of justice. He has been a central figure in the development of the City Bar Justice Center where he serves on the Board of Directors and which is devoted to increasing access to justice. He holds a B.A. from City College of New York, an M.A. in economics from Brown University, and a J.D. from New York University.  

 Alumna Miriam A. Buhl ’92 received the Spirit of Service Award. Buhl is Pro Bono Counsel at Weil, Gotshal and Manges, LLP. She has coordinated the firm’s award winning worldwide pro bono program since 2005. In her career she has served as the New York State Director of the Greater New York chapter of the March of Dimes and as the Executive Director of the New York Women’s Foundation. She was the Founding Director of the Public Service Network of the New York City Bar and the Executive Director of the fair housing agency, Westchester Residential Opportunities.  
The recipient of the Life of Commitment Award was presented to Leonard Noisette, Director of the Criminal Justice Fund for U.S. Programs at the Open Society Institute. He served as the longtime executive director of the Neighborhood Defender Service of Harlem, renowned for its development of community-based full service representation of clients. Previously, he was with the Legal Aid Society of New York. He has been a member of the Adjunct Faculty at Fordham Law School since 2001 where he teaches the course Fundamental Lawyering Skills.  
This is a special night to recognize four special friends of the Center whose lives embody the values that we seek to express,” said John D. Feerick ’61, Founder and Senior Counsel of the Center. “Miriam Buhl and Leonard Noisette have spent decades using their professional skills to bring social justice to many who have sought help. Alan Rothstein has developed a career in the law that inspires a new generation of lawyers. Professor Constantine N. Katsoris has spent decades in public pro bono service that models volunteer commitment for lawyers and law students and has been an advisor to our Center for several years